Love is…

I just finished reading The Family of Jesus by Karen Kingsbury. It’s a Bible study that looks at six members of Jesus’s family – Joseph, Zechariah, Elizabeth, John the Baptist, Jesus’s brother James, and Jesus’s mother Mary. Kingsbury combines Biblical truth with fictional insights to bring each of their stories to life.

The whole study was great, but I lingered the most on Joseph’s section. I’ve known his part in the account of Jesus’s birth, but I hadn’t given Joseph much thought beyond that. Kingsbury paints Joseph as the protector, who goes to extraordinary lengths to watch over his family.

Then this morning, I heard the song Joseph’s Lullaby by MercyMe. Here are a few lines…

I believe the glory of Heaven
Is lying in my arms tonight
But Lord, I ask that He for just this moment
Simply be my child

Joseph’s knew he held the Son of God. He knew he was Jesus’s stepfather. But he had a deep abiding love for Jesus, as evidenced by his actions.

Joseph cared for Mary as best he could during her pregnancy. Joseph fled with his family to Egypt to keep Jesus from harm. Joseph taught Jesus his trade – carpentry. Joseph’s deeds showed love.

All this took my thoughts back to an act of love I experienced in college. I went to a small school in a town on the Texas/Oklahoma border, about an hour and fifteen minutes north of Dallas. My grandparents lived in Dallas, so I often made the trek up and down I-75.

Unfortunately, my car had a tendency to break down. This was before cell phones, so I usually had to walk to the nearest gas station or store to call my grandparents. My grandpa – I called him Pops – would hop in his car to come get me.

One of those times, I remember getting back to my grandparents’s house in Dallas, and there was a bowl of melted ice cream sitting next to Pops’s chair. Apparently he’d just fixed himself a bowl of ice cream when I called. He set the bowl down and came to get me. He didn’t even finish his ice cream first.

So for me – love is melted ice cream.

Let’s talk: How would you finish this sentence: Love is…?

This entry was posted in Grace, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

