[Not] Lost in Translation

When my oldest was two, I’d tell her I was making hot tea or a pot of tea. Somehow she combined the two and told our neighbors that mommy liked pot tea. Like Lucy, I had some ‘splainin to do.

Fast forward eight or so years. 2015 is a year for scripture memorization in our house. Lori, one of my college roommates, asked if I’d join her in taking the 2015 Siesta Scripture Memorization challenge sponsored by Beth Moore’s Living Proof Ministries.

I just logged my fifth verse yesterday:

Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord. Psalm 27:14

I figured if I was memorizing scripture, it wouldn’t hurt my girls to do it too.

I’ve tried to pick out key verses for them, ones that will work into the fiber of their young minds and sustain them as they grow.

Their current verse is Philippians 4:13: I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. (New King James Version)

This weekend my youngest was trying to find the verse in her Bible…an NIV, and saw the words didn’t match exactly. Her Bible read I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

She asked why the verse looked different in her Bible.

I told her the Bible wasn’t originally written in English, so people choose different words when they translate it. The important thing is that the meaning stays the same. And that we trust God to make his meaning – by way of the Bible – clear in our lives.

We trust because the Bible tells us that all Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work. 2 Timothy 3:16, 17

That’s a hard concept for a seven-year old. Heck, it’s a hard concept for a 38-year-old.

But I choose to trust that nothing’s lost in translation. I trust that God’s word is true and holds promise both for this life and the life to come.

Let’s talk: What’s your favorite Bible translation and why?

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

