Just an ordinary Thursday

Have you ever caught a glimpse of God at work in the ordinary, everyday things of life?

I did today.

It started out as an ordinary Thursday…a little on the blah side, if you want the truth.

I lost my temper at my youngest daughter this morning. She couldn’t decide what to wear, the clock was ticking, and she was making us late. My little fit left her in tears, and she barely had time to dry her eyes before it was our turn in the car rider line. I drove away with that horrible feeling of a bad goodbye.

Blah!

I had two interviews scheduled for today. The second lady I was supposed to interview cancelled…which means more work for another day.

Double blah!!

I picked up the aforementioned daughter from school, came home, and started to fold laundry.

If that isn’t the most, ordinary, everyday action, I don’t know what is.

But…and this is the best part…

I was mid-fold when my daughter said, “I’m ready to ask Jesus to be my savior.”

Just like that.

I set the shirt down and asked, “Right now?”

“I’ve been thinking about it for a while, and I’m ready,” was her reply.

Wow!

She’s seven. Thinking she might be a bit young to grasp the magnitude of such a decision, I asked her every question I could think of…

1. Why do we need a Savior
2.Who sins?
3.What did Jesus accomplish on the cross?
4. What do we have to do to accept his gift of eternal life?
5. What does it mean to turn away from sin and chase after God?

She answered all my questions…and what’s more…she answered each question personally…how it affected her.

I knew she was ready, so I told her that all she had to do was pour out her heart to God, telling Him everything we had just talked about and inviting him into her life.

Double wow! It was a precious moment to listen to my sweet girl place her life in God’s hands. To know that she, who was His before she was mine, will be His forever.

Ordinary ground became holy ground. God is at work in people’s hearts and lives. There’s no such thing as an ordinary day with Him.

If you ever find yourself in the same situation, here are a few of the Scriptures I shared with my daughter as we talked:

This is real love – not that we loved God, but that He loved us. 1 John 4:10

For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God. Romans 3:23

For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 6:23

So repent from your sins. Turn to God. Then your sins will be wiped away. Acts 3:19

God loved the world so much that he gave his one and only Son. Anyone who believes in him will not die but will have eternal life. John 3:16

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” John 14:6

Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. Matthew 28:19

Let’s talk: Do you have any others verses to add to the list? Anything else that points people to Christ’s redeeming work on the cross?

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just an ordinary Thursday

  1. Pingback: The gift of love | Sara Suderman

Leave a Reply

