When you don’t measure up

My youngest daughter was born with confidence. Confidence in herself, confidence in her abilities, confidence in her place in the world.

Which is a good thing. She doesn’t second-guess herself. She knows what she wants and goes for it.

So when she asked me to play checkers with her on Saturday, I should have expected a competitive game.

I didn’t.

As she hustled one of her pieces across the board, my daughter announced, “Mom, you’re not even in my league.”

(Um, did I mention her confidence could use a healthy dose of humility???)

Ouch! Double-ouch when it comes from your six-year-old.

And while I know she was joking (sort-of), that phrase, whether said or implied, can leave us feeling like we just don’t measure up.

Tough checkers match aside, this has been a rough day. My best friend called to say her husband is being transferred to Australia. Yes, Australia…a million miles away from Texas. My heart is so heavy it hurts. And while I’m excited for her and her family and their Aussie adventure, I selfishly want them to stay put. In their house that’s less than a mile from mine. *Sigh*

Then my editor sent an email saying she caught an error in one of my stories. Bless her! But I still bungled a fact, and that leaves me feeling low.

What to do?

I’m more inclined than ever to believe Ronald Reagan’s statement, “Within the covers of the Bible are the answers for all the problems men face.”

So it’s off to the Bible I go.

Psalm 18 tells us God is a shield for all who take refuge in him…

“For who is God besides the Lord,
And who is the Rock except our God?
It is God who arms me with strength
and makes my way perfect.
He makes my feet like the feet of a deer;
He enables me to stand on the heights. (verses 31-33, emphasis mine)

Did you catch it, friend? When we’re feeling low, God raises us up to the heights. He is our rock, our protector, our counselor, our savior and friend.

Yes, it’s been a rotten, crummy day. Yes, three years is a long time to miss my friend who’s off to Oz. Yes, I made a work-related mistake. But God hasn’t written me off.

Search the rest of Psalm 18 and you’ll find a gem in verse 35…

You give me your shield of victory,
And your right hand sustains me;
You stoop down to make me great.

God meets us at our lowest points. He stoops down to raise us up again, all for His glory.

Let’s talk: Have you ever had a terrible, horrible, no-good day? How did you get over it?

This entry was posted in Faith, Random Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When you don’t measure up

  1. To answer your question, yes. After the 1st jail riot I every had to deal with, as a corrections officer, I had an hour drive home. During that time, I prayed to God. That’s how I got over it. God bless.

  2. Pingback: When you don’t measure up, Part Two | Sara Suderman

Leave a Reply

