So very blessed

Happy (belated) Mother’s Day!

There were many moments this past weekend that opened my eyes to just how very blessed I am.

My girls are 9 and 6 now, old enough to catch a glimpse of the people they are becoming. They fill our house with light, and I’m reminded once again to savor every moment.

I was listening to Francesca Battistelli’s You’re Here this morning. It’s a Christmas song, but I like it no matter the season.

There’s a line in the song, sung from Mary’s point of view, when she says…

I don’t know how long I’m going to have you for
But I’ll be watching as you change the world.

Can’t you just picture that young mother, holding her babe, knowing he was born for something out of the ordinary? She didn’t know what, but she knew to treasure every moment.

I think about those days before Jesus began his earthly ministry, back when he was simply Mary and Joseph’s son. Did he bring his mom flowers? Did he make her a handmade card?

I was touched yesterday morning to wake up and find this banner taped to the blinds by our breakfast table.

MomURock

The girls (with a little help from Daddy) made a delicious breakfast and presented me with handmade cards.

handmadecards

These acts of love mean more to me than the girls will ever know. There are so many days when moms are slogging through the trenches, drowning in laundry, and wondering if the to-do list will ever end.

But then there are days like Mother’s Day, when we remember why we trudge through the trenches. We do it because we love our children.

And when our kiddos respond with gestures of love themselves — well, there’s no greater joy.

Let’s talk: What’s your most meaningful Mother’s Day memory?

This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

