A page is turned

We experienced extended family drama over Thanksgiving, and I crumbled. Completely came undone. I lost my smile.

My youngest daughter was quick to pick up on the shift, the altered mood in our house. “Mommy, you don’t look very happy.”

And I wasn’t. I was without joy. I forgot my source of joy – God. And I acted like one without hope, without trust in the one who works all things for the good of those who love him. (Romans 8:28)

And yet – when I was utterly unlovable, my husband loved me. He held me, he prayed for me, he stayed by my side.

As the storm clouds started to subside, my thoughts turned to a song I hadn’t heard in years, Bebo Norman’s A Page is Turned.

The lyrics keep running through my mind. I’ve always associated it with weddings, probably because a good friend used it in hers. But as I listened to the words, they somehow seem so applicable to marriage, too.

A page is turned in this life, he’s making her his wife
And there is no secret to the source of this much life
When the grace that falls like rain is washing them again
Just a chance to somehow rise above this land

Where the God of second chance
Will pick them up and He’ll let them dance
Through a world that is not kind
And all this time, they’re sharing with the One
That holds them up when they come undone

That’s what my husband did for me this week – he held me up when I came undone. He did that because it’s what God does for us – he’s our Strength when we can’t go it alone.

I’m so grateful for my husband. I knew I was a lucky girl on our wedding day, but over the years I’ve realized just how truly blessed I am.

This entry was posted in Grace, Relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A page is turned

  1. Pingback: The end of the story | Sara Suderman

  2. Pingback: From lemons to lemonade | Sara Suderman

Leave a Reply

