Juxtaposition

Okay friends, the title of today’s blog post comes from the shadowy remnants of English 101 lurking in my mind. Somehow it surfaced this morning as I was running.

Juxtaposition.

Webster’s defines it as the act or instance of placing close together or side by side, especially for comparison or contrast. I’ll tell you how it relates in a moment, but first comes the background.

I’ve been like the proverbial duck on still waters lately. On the surface, all appears calm, peaceful even. But under the water my legs are paddling like crazy. I just can’t seem to balance my roles as wife, mother, employee, friend. My mind is constantly percolating with to-do lists. I’m so busy anticipating what comes next that I’m missing the what’s right now.

I’ve been petitioning God for wisdom, strength and peace. This morning he brought two verses to mind. John 15:5 and Philippians 4:13. Bear with me – this is where the juxtaposition comes in.

I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.   John 15:5, emphasis mine

I can do everything through him who gives me strength.  Philippians 4:13, emphasis mine

Did you catch it? Nothing and everything.

In my own strength, I can do nothing. Sounds harsh, but I think it’s true. I’m the duck, remember, and I’m not getting anywhere.

In God’s strength, I can do everything. He is the giver of all good gifts (James 1:17). God gave me my family, my job, my friends. I trust Him today to help me balance those roles in a way that brings him glory.

Let’s talk: Have you ever felt overwhelmed by life’s demands? How did you gain perspective?

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Grace and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

