Badder and badder

Okay, so today is not Grammar 101. But stick with me – I’ve got a point.

My youngest daughter, age 5, was watching a show recently. I walked into the living room to find her perched on the edge of the couch, eyes glued to the TV.

Me: What are you watching, honey? Is it good?

Her: No, it just keeps getting badder and badder.

That’s it, isn’t it? The secret to what keeps us coming back for more. We don’t follow plot lines as intensely when everything is fine…the characters are happy, the setting is sunny and no danger looms on the horizon.

No, we invest ourselves when the unexpected happens. When the characters are thrust into dangerous situations. When tragedy strikes.

Because then we want to know…how will it end? Is that elusive happy ending within reach?

I think my girl was on to something.

p.s. Downton Abbey is on my list of shows to watch. Several friends have recommended it, but I haven’t seen it yet. I do listen to the chatter of said friends, and there was a lot of anticipation going into Monday’s episode. Case in point: we want to know what happens when things aren’t going well.

Let’s talk: What have you read or seen on TV/at the movies that kept you on the edge of your seat?

This entry was posted in Great reads, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

