Life’s interruptions

I’ve been sick for the past three days. Not the flu, not strep throat, just a nasty cold. I haven’t felt this bad in years. I finally broke down and went to the doctor this morning. Diagnosis: sinus and ear infection. Blah!

Anyhow, I had plans for this past weekend. We were having friends over for dinner on Sunday evening. Had to cancel. I wanted to whittle down our mountain of laundry. Didn’t happen. And I wanted to write. Not. one. single. word. Blah, again.

So this weekend didn’t go as planned. I was reminded of the verse from Proverbs:

In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps.

I don’t know if Solomon was nursing a cold when he penned these words, but they rang true with me.

I can (and do) make plans. But whether or not they come to fruition is up to God. My years, my days, my hours – they all belong to him. Maybe that’s what this weekend was all about.

Let’s talk: Have your plans been derailed recently? By what? Did anything better come your way?

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

