Don’t miss the miracles

OK, friends…I’m back. And although I’ve been on a blogging break, life hasn’t taken a break. The ups, the downs, the joys, the sorrows…all rolled into the past four months. The best news? God has been – and continues to be – faithful in all things.

“Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall.” Psalm 55:22

So the thought that’s rolling around in my brain today has to do with miracles. Not the bush-burning, wine-making variety (although those are awesome), but the miracles that take place in the ordinary moments of everyday.

The specific miracle that I have in mind took place a few days ago. I had just finished vacuuming the girls’ bedrooms when I came around the corner into the living room. There were my two girls sitting on the couch side by side. My oldest daughter (2nd grader) was reading a book to my youngest daughter (preschooler). I have a sneaking suspicion that wasn’t the first time it’s happened – I’ve heard hushed tones after lights out a time or two – but it was the first time I’d witnessed it.

Let me tell you, it took my breath away. I know, I know…there’s nothing supernatural about that scene. But friend, in that moment, I recognized the magnitude of my blessings.

I have two healthy girls who like each other (most of the time). We have a home that provides shelter and warmth. My husband and I have jobs that we like. We live in a place where my children have access to a good education. The list goes on…

I am so very, very blessed. And it took an ordinary moment to open my eyes. My response – the only response, really – was thankfulness. Gratitude to God for the blessings He’s placed in my path.

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ.” Ephesians 1:3

So friend, my wish for you today is that you won’t miss the miracles – those small moments of joy that often come at the most unexpected times.

Let’s talk: Have you witnessed any everyday miracles lately? What did it make you thankful for?

This entry was posted in Character, Faith, Grace, Parenting, Relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

