Oh Willie…

Yesterday I was running when Willie Nelson’s Always On My Mind came up on my playlist.

Now, I should clarify:

I’m a big fan of Willie Nelson’s music. (Most of it)

But as I was listening to the lyrics, I noticed something. See if you catch it, too:

And maybe I didn’t hold you
All those lonely, lonely times.
And I guess I never told you
I’m so happy that you’re mine.

Maybe you didn’t hold her???

You guess you didn’t tell her? YOU GUESS!!??? C’mon Willie. Where’s the passion?

In books, in music, in life…I like passion. Most girls do. We don’t want any maybes, or I guesses. We like pure, unbridled declarations of love.

Fortunately, Willie redeems himself later in the song:

Tell me,
Tell me that your sweet love hasn’t died.
Give me,
Give me one more chance to keep you satisfied.

Okay, now I’m feeling it. Willie really does love this girl. He should have put that at the beginning of the song.

Let’s talk: How do you like your love stories, whether in a song, a book or in real life? What’s your favorite Willie Nelson song?

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

