Qualitative worship vs. quantitative worship

I’ve been working my way through the books of 1 and 2 Chronicles for the past few weeks. I’m in 2 Chronicles now – the part where Solomon is building God’s temple in Jerusalem.

On two separate occasions, two sentences with similar themes jumped out at me. The first is from 2 Chronicles 4:18.

All these things that Solomon made amounted to so much that the weight of the bronze was not determined.

The second is from 2 Chronicles 5:6

And King Solomon and the entire assembly of Israel that had gathered about him were before the ark, sacrificing so many sheep and cattle that they could not be recorded or counted.

Did you catch the similarities?

In both instances, Solomon gave too much to count. His was an extravagant worship, beyond measure. It made me realize how often I fall short in my own worship of God. I like things that are easily counted. I like knowing when it’s enough. But is that really the right approach?

How often do I fall into the trap of quantifiable worship?

I commit to read my Bible daily.

I want to pray at least once a day.

I want to be generous, in the amount of …

What would happen if I took those qualifiers off the ends of each sentence? What if I hungered to read the Bible so much that once a day simply wasn’t enough? What if I talked to God throughout the day, instead of storing it up for a few minutes of one-way dialogue? What if I gave until I lost track?

Solomon, in all of his wisdom, gave beyond measure. What would happen if I did the same?

Let’s talk: Have you ever given anything (time, resources, understanding) beyond what you thought possible? What was the result?

p.s. Update on Carter: Turns out, his arm wasn’t broken after all. The orthopedic said the ER doc made a mistake. Soccer season is saved!

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

