First day of school

Today is the first day of school. The day my oldest daughter starts second grade.

When the bell rings at 8 o’clock, it will mark the end of a glorious summer. A summer filled with mornings at the pool, lazy afternoons and family gathered around the table for the evening meal. I will miss those days. *Sigh*

Now our days will be filled with school drop-off and pick-up, homework and after-school activities. All worthwhile activities in their own right, but not the carefree days we’ve enjoyed for the past two and a half months.

I can’t help but be a little sad today. This first day of school, more than any before it, reminds me that the clock is ticking. The time I have with my girls is fleeting. Next year, my youngest will be off to kindergarten. These precious days, when my girls are 7 and 4, won’t come again.

My heart is bound to these girls in a way my twenty-something self with a baby bump could never understand. They are woven into the very fibers of my soul. Yet I know they are not really mine. They never were. They belong to Almighty God. Daughters of the King. He alone can claim them.

That’s why I’m so grateful for God’s promise of eternity. Because I know this time on earth will never be enough. Not enough time with my one-in-a-million girls. So today, amidst my tears and sadness, I resolve to be thankful. Thankful for gift of salvation. Thankful for unending love. Thankful for the gift of God’s son that makes eternity possible.

Let’s talk: Do you have children starting school today? How does it make you feel?

This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

