Wanting God’s best for your child

My cell phone plan doesn’t include unlimited texting. After yesterday, maybe it should.

Yesterday we found out who our daughter’s 2nd grade teacher will be. The way her school does it, you get the teacher’s name, but not the names of classmates. So by yesterday afternoon, the text messages on my phone were piling up.

Who does so-and-so have?

Who’s his teacher?

What class is she in?

I’ve been on the other side as a teacher, but I’m still getting used to school jitters as a parent.

Like every other parent, I want the best for my child. A teacher who’s kind, patient, empathetic, inspiring, challenging.

Classmates she knows and feels comfortable around.

But ultimately, those decisions are out of my hands. Out of my hands, but not out of God’s.

So today I resolve to put my daughter’s second grade year in His hands. He knows what she needs.

Let’s talk: Do you ever get the first day of school jitters as a parent? How do you handle it?

This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

