Are Game Boys considered antiques yet?

My husband and I watched Sleepless in Seattle with Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks last night. I had forgotten what a great movie it is!

There were a few items in the movie that unleashed a whole string of “Do you remembers.”

Game Boys – remember them? Now its Nintendo DS and iPad apps…

Rotary phones – I can’t remember the last time I saw one of those in use…

Boombox – We’ve come a long way, baby…

After the movie ended, I looked up its release date: 1993. I was a junior in high school that year. Seems like a lifetime ago.

My husband asked if I remembered the first time I ever used the Internet. For the record, I do.

It was during my second year of college. Up until that point, I’d used computers, but strictly for word processing.

It’s incredible how much has changed in the past two decades. It makes me wonder what lies ahead.

Let’s talk: What do you think has been the most significant technological advance of the past 20 years? What changes do you anticipate in the next 20 years?

 

This entry was posted in Remembrance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

