Not a creature was stirring

My husband and I returned home last night after a weekend up at my in-laws place in the country. Our kids are staying with their grandparents for a week of summer fun.

I thought I would enjoy the peace and quiet at home, but it’s eerily quiet. I’m talking watch the dust settle on the furniture quiet. Stare at the wall and study the texturing quiet. Q-U-I-E-T.

I’m not sure I can handle this all week. Day one without kids and I already miss them. It’s funny, when you’re in the midst of mothering, any downtime seems like heaven. But take away the constant chatter, the little messes, the never-ending parade of needs, and life seems vacant.

So today, I resolve to be thankful for the little people in my life. To treasure them for the blessings they are. To cherish every minute I get to hold their precious, chubby hands.

Because I know, one day in the not-so-distant future, they’ll be off again. And if today is any indication, I’ll be missing them like crazy.

Let’s talk: How do you feel about letting go?

This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

