Those who are with us…

Do you ever feel as though it’s you against the world?

I do sometimes. There are days when nothing seems to be going my way. Days when I’m overwhelmed. Days when I feel alone on this ride called life.

But then there are other days – days when God’s presence seems so real it feels like I could glance over my shoulder to find Him there.

The truth is, He’s always there. I just need to open my eyes to see Him.

Consider this story from 2 Kings 6:

Elisha was a prophet of God who said a thing or two to outrage the king of Aram. The king ordered his troops to surround the city where Elisha was staying.

Listen to what happens next:

When the servant of the man of God got up and went out early the next morning, an army with horses and chariots had surrounded the city. “Oh, my lord, what shall we do?” the servant asked.

Let me interrupt for just a second here. I know this feeling. The feeling of terror when the circumstances of life seem to close in on me. I sympathize with Elisha’s servant. That’s why this next part of the story is so completely wonderful.

“Don’t be afraid,” the prophet answered. “Those who are with us are more than those who are with them.”

And Elisha prayed, “O Lord, open his eyes so he may see.” Then the Lord opened the servant’s eyes, and he looked and saw the hills full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha.”

Just to make sure we’re all on the same page – the horses and chariots of fire that the servant saw were part of God’s army. His unseen, ever-present army. His hedge of protection around those who have put their faith in Him. He watches over us, day and night. The Bible tells us that God neither slumbers nor sleeps (Psalm 121:4). He commands a great army, an army that’s on our side.

So how does that apply to us?

It doesn’t mean that no harm will ever come to us. It means that every trial, every hardship has the potential to reveal God’s great power. We just need eyes to see it.

Let’s talk: Have you ever witnessed God’s great power?

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

