God is my rock

Recently I spent three days at summer camp with my oldest daughter (she’s 7). It was her first overnight camp experience.

When we got home, my husband asked her all the usual questions:

Did you have fun?

Did you make new friends?

What was your favorite activity?

What did you learn?

It was her answer to the last question that stopped me in my tracks.

She replied simply, “I learned that God is my rock.”

I don’t know why her answer caught me off guard. I taught the Bible study at camp. I know what she learned.

During the Bible study, we started with a verse from Hebrews:

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever.

In our cabin of six girls, including my daughter, we talked about what that verse means. God never changes. He is constant, solid and sure.

Then the campers looked up the following verses in their own Bibles:

The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer;
My God is my rock, in whom I take refuge.
He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. Psalm 18:2

But the plans of the Lord stand firm forever,
The purposes of his heart through all generations. Psalm 33:11

The grass withers and the flowers fall,
But the word of our God stands forever. Isaiah 40:8

The final part of the study was a hands-on object lesson. Each girl got to decorate her own rock. Here’s my daughter’s:

I’m so grateful for her answer to my husband’s question. But I also know that it’s primarily head-knowledge right now. She’s got me, and her father, and her grandparents, and a whole host of people who love her and support her. But one day, it’s possible – er, more like probable – that she will find herself in the midst of life’s storms. And when she does, I hope this truth will permeate the very fibers of her being.

As for me, well, I’m there. This has been an emotional week with the sale of my grandparents’ home. More than ever, I’m clinging to the promise that God is my rock. My prayer for my daughter is that one day, she’ll do the same.

Let’s talk: Do you have any favorite camp memories? Did you learn any life-changing lessons at camp?

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

