Not home yet

Do you ever feel like God is trying to get your attention?

I do. This morning, as I headed out for a run, I pulled up my favorite playlist and hit shuffle. Halfway along my route two songs played back to back – Blessings by Laura Story and Where I belong by Building 429.

In each song, a line jumped out at me just as clearly as if God Himself had spoken.

From Blessings:

The pain reminds this heart, that this is not, this is not our home…

From Where I belong:

All I know is I’m not home yet. This is not where I belong…

Did you catch the common thread? It wasn’t hard, was it? God couldn’t have been clearer.

I’m not home yet. Neither are you, if you’re a believer. Our home is with God. Consider this passage from Psalm 84:

Even the sparrow has found a home,
and the swallow a nest for herself,
where she may have her young –
a place near your altar,
O Lord Almighty, my King and my God.

Only when we build our “nests” close to God are we truly home. Bricks and mortar don’t make a home. The presence of God does.

Let’s talk: What does ‘home’ mean to you?

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not home yet

  1. Pingback: The crucifixion of Peter | Sara Suderman

  2. Pingback: Always love | Sara Suderman

Leave a Reply

