Sunrise, sunset

Note: This is the last in a three-part series. My husband’s parents and grandparents have several acres near Centerville, Texas (halfway between Dallas and Houston – hence the name). My kids love to go to the “country,” as they call it. We were there for Memorial Day weekend, and I was struck by the life lessons I witnessed in three days.

One of the best parts of my in-laws’ house is their back porch. It overlooks a pasture with a pond. The view is spectacular, especially at sunset.

View from my in-laws’ back porch at sunset

I don’t know why, exactly, but there seems to be a natural rhythm to the day when we’re in the country. My kids feel it, too. They’re up at first light. They go, go, go all day long (mostly running around outside) and then they start to unwind after supper.

The back porch is the evening gathering spot. The kids play while the adults visit. It’s the final crescendo of the day.

For some reason, I was particularly productive on the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend. I went for a run, finished a short story (you can read it here), worked in the garden, and played with my kids. By the time the sun set, I felt like the day had been everything it should be.

Let’s talk: Under what circumstances do you accomplish the most? Does a change of pace improve or hinder your productivity?

This entry was posted in Goals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunrise, sunset

  1. Pingback: Sunrise | Sara Suderman

Leave a Reply

