New life

Note: This is the second in a three-part series. My husband’s parents and grandparents have several acres near Centerville, Texas (halfway between Dallas and Houston – hence the name). My kids love to go to the “country,” as they call it. We were there for Memorial Day weekend, and I was struck by the life lessons I witnessed in three days.

I’ve been a city girl most of my life. Not that I don’t like the country – I do. It’s just that more of my life’s experiences have taken place in cities.

So it’s not everyday that I witness the birth of a baby calf. My husband’s grandfather owns cattle, and one of his cows gave birth when we were in the country a few weekends back.

The calf with its mother – less than a day old!

Let me tell you, it was pretty amazing to see the baby struggle to its feet for the first time. Even more amazing was watching it follow its mother around less than a day after it was born.

To watch something so new find its way in the world was awe-inspiring. It also opened my eyes to the little miracles that take place all around me everyday.

The bird that just laid its eggs in the tree in our front yard.
The flower that was a bud yesterday, a bloom today.
The baby chicks that hatched at my daughter’s school last week.

They all point to the One who delights in making all things new.

That’s true of our lives as well. God is in the business of making us new.

Look at Isaiah 43:18,19

Forget the former things;
do not dwell on the past.
See, I am doing a new thing.
Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the desert
and streams in the wasteland. (emphasis mine)

Did you catch the last part of that verse? I hope so! I think it’s the best part. You don’t have to be fresh off the farm (excuse the pun) for God to do a new work in you. No, He can take your deserts, your wastelands, and do a new work in them – in you. All you have to do is surrender to Him.

New life, new beginnings, new opportunities – what an awesome God we serve!

Let’s talk: Have you witnessed anything lately that gave you a fresh appreciation for God’s creation? Has God been doing a new work in you?

This entry was posted in Grace and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

