Courage

Quick – name the key players in the first five books of the Old Testament.

Done? I bet you’ve got Adam, Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Moses. Maybe a few others.

Is Aaron on your list?

He wasn’t on mine, but I stumbled across a verse recently that made me think he deserves a second look.

When it comes to the Israelites exodus out of Egypt, I’ve always thought of Moses as the star of the show. Aaron – well, he was Moses’ sidekick. The guy who got to ride shotgun on the way to Canaan because Moses wasn’t a fan of public speaking. (See Exodus 3:10-17)

But then I read Numbers, chapter 16. The Israelites are in the desert, grumbling against God (again!), and God has had it. He decides to annihilate the whiney ones. He tells Moses and Aaron to step back, and He sends a plague to wipe out the complainers. But Aaron leaps into action:

The plague had already started among the people, but Aaron offered the incense and made atonement for them. He stood between the living and the dead, and the plague stopped. Numbers 16:48

Wow, that takes courage. I don’t know about you, but if a plague ever took out half my subdivision, I wouldn’t be rushing to the dividing line between the living and the dead.

My point is this:

I may have overlooked Aaron before. But just like Moses, Aaron knew God. Aaron came face to face with God. And Aaron was willing to stand in the gap for other people.

I think that carries an important message for you and me.

Every person counts. In God’s kingdom, there are no sidekicks. We all have a part to play. And if we are faithful to do that which He has called us to do, we can accomplish great things for His kingdom.

Let’s talk: What’s the bravest thing you’ve ever done? How did you feel before? After?

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

