Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice, the movie version with Keira Knightley and Clive Owen, was on television night before last. I love that show.

I also love the 6-hour version with Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth. The look between Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth in the parlor at Pemberley gets me every time.

But most especially, I love the book. It has so many classic lines:

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.

Are the shades of Pemberley to be thus polluted?

You are too generous to trifle with me. If your feelings are still what they were last April, tell me so at once. My affections and wishes are unchanged, but one word from you will silence me on this subject for ever.

Oh, the thrill of a good romance. I could read it again and again.

Let’s talk: What’s your favorite romance novel? Favorite classic book?

 

 

This entry was posted in Great reads and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

