Metamorphosis

Today I was a chaperone for my daughter’s field trip to the science museum. We saw the movie, “Bugs!” in 3D. The photography was amazing. Picture a preying mantis giving us a glimpse through its googly eyeballs or an armored beatle showing off its outerwear.

My favorite “character” was Papilio, who first broke out of her egg as a caterpillar, ate her way through the rain forest, became a chrysalis, and finally emerged as a butterfly.

Although I’ve known about the life cycle of a butterfly since I was my daughter’s age, watching it on film gave me a new appreciation for Papilio’s metamorphosis. What struck me most was how she struggled to get out of the chrysalis. Because the film was in 3D, it felt like I could reach out and touch her. Oh, how I wanted to help her break free. If I could have lifted her out of the chrysalis without a struggle, I would have.

But that’s not part of the process, is it?

Papilio needed the struggle to emerge victorious as a butterfly. Isn’t that how it is with us? Becoming a Christian doesn’t mean we won’t struggle anymore; it means there will be a purpose for the pain.

“And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.” 2 Corinthians 3:18

God wants to transform us into his likeness. Will the change involve pain? Sure. Will it be worth it? Oh, yes.

Let’s talk: Has there ever been a time when you’ve struggled? Looking back, can you see the purpose for the pain?

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

