Broken bones

My daughter broke her arm last Tuesday.

Ironically, she had just jumped off our neighbor’s trampoline and was walking across their backyard when she tripped on a bush…just a few sticks poking out of the ground, really. But the impact when she fell was enough to snap both bones in her forearm.

Ouch!

She was a good sport, though, and didn’t cry once in the minor ER clinic. The doctor had to sedate her to set the bones, and my husband said that was the hardest part for him.

You see, I wasn’t there when it happened. I was in Dallas for work.

I got the call as I was going through airport security at Dallas Love Field. For the record, an airport is not a good place to get bad news. I felt helpless. My girl was hurting, and I wasn’t there to comfort her.

I called my mom – for comfort – and she called everyone else in the family.

As I was waiting for my flight back to Houston, overwhelmed with Mommy Guilt, I got a text from my sister-in-law, my priceless, one-in-a-million sister-in-law.

She asked how I was doing.

Not good, was my response. I wish I was there to hold her hand.

My sister-in-law’s reply came swiftly.

She’ll be fine. You’ve taught her to hold God’s hand.

Wow. Talk about wisdom for the moment.

It brings to mind Psalm 73:23:

Yet I am always with you; you hold me by my right hand.

God holds our hands. When you are in the middle of a difficult situation, and it feels like there is no earthly hand to hold, no one to squeeze gently and offer words of encouragement, remember that. God holds your hand.

I encourage you to read the rest of Psalm 73. It reassures us that God is our strength and our portion…our ever-present help in times of need.

Let’s talk: Have you ever been through a difficult time when it felt like no one was there to hold your hand? How did you cope?

This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Broken bones

  1. I said ouch just reading your description.

  2. Pingback: The ‘What-if’ game | Sara Suderman

  3. Pingback: Broken bones, part deux | Sara Suderman

Leave a Reply

