Failure

If your faith ever needs a boost, read the New Testament book of John.

That’s what I’ve been doing for the past month, and it’s been eye-opening.

Oh, sure, I’ve read it before, a verse here, a verse there, even all the way through when I was in Bible college. But to spend a month meditating on the book of John, considering each passage, has given me new insights. I recommend it.

For now, let me just share one thought that’s been rolling around in my head. To set the stage, let’s cut to Peter on the night that Jesus is arrested. He denied knowing Jesus three times that evening. Three times!

This is jump-out-of-the-boat Peter. Cut-off-the-servant’s-ear Peter. He loves Jesus. And yet Peter fails him.

But that’s not the part I want you to see. Flip to the last chapter in John. Jesus has died, been raised from the dead, and now he appears to his disciples. He singles out Peter.

“Simon (Peter) son of John, do you truly love me?” (John 21:15, 16, 17)

He asks Peter the same question three times. And each time, Peter’s answer is the same.

“Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.”

 Did you catch that? Three questions, three answers. The same number of times that Peter denied Jesus.

So here’s the takeaway:

God matches our failures with His forgiveness.

 Each time we fail God, he reaches out to forgive us. Each time! Nothing can alter our status as a child of God. I hope that brings you encouragement today.

Let’s talk? Have you ever felt like you failed God? What verses or thoughts encouraged you?

This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Failure

  1. Pingback: The crucifixion of Peter | Sara Suderman

Leave a Reply

