The cure for crabbiness

It’s amazing how a song can usher you into the presence of God.

That’s what happened to me this morning. Today is Monday, and I wasn’t exactly ringing in the week.

Discontent. That’s what I felt this morning. Everything made me crabby.

Then my 4 year old asked me to turn on music so she could dance. I flipped to our local Christian radio station and praise music instantly filled our home. What a difference it made. The mood changed and the focus shifted from me to God. Isn’t that the definition of worship? Putting the spotlight on God, making Him the center of our lives.

Yes, in this life we will have trouble. The Bible tells us that. But that’s not the end of the story, praise God. Look at John 16:33, paying close attention to the last part of the verse.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (emphasis mine).

So even though I wasn’t exactly chipper this morning, God was, and still is, on his throne. He’s in control and he will be throughout this week.

Now that’s reason to rejoice.

Let’s talk: What’s your cure for crabbiness? How do you overcome a bad day?

This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

