What are you wearing?

Today is rodeo day at my youngest daughter’s preschool. Rodeo pictures are on the agenda, so I laid out an outfit for her to wear. Here’s how the “getting dressed” part of our morning went down.

Horse shirt with “bling.”   Check.

Jeans.   Check

Boots.   Not check.

She opted instead for her rain boots. “It’s wet outside,” she protested. Okay, valid point. She got the rain boots. Up next:

Cowgirl hat.   Also not check.

She ran to her room and brought back a sequined Easter bunny mask that she fished out of the dollar bin at Target last week. The whole ensemble was quite eye-catching, but not in the way I envisioned.

Ah…the joys of raising an independent thinker. And for those of you wondering if I let her go to school in that get-up, the answer is yes. It was one of those pick your battle mornings.

Don’t we do the same thing to God? We opt not to wear the clothes he has already picked for us. Take a look at Ephesians 6:10-18.

“Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.”

 Ouch. There are so many days I fail to dress appropriately. Oh, I’d like to do better. I want my feet to be fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. I want to wield the sword of the Spirit. But so often I jump out of bed and neglect to “dress’ myself in the clothes God has chosen for me.

Thankfully, even when I fail God, He doesn’t fail me.

I will order my daughter’s rodeo picture, no matter what she’s wearing, because she is in it. My child. A piece of my heart.

Isn’t that how it is with God?

Isaiah 49:16 tells us that we are engraved us on the palm of His hand. He carries our likeness with Him simply because we are His.

I don’t know about you, but that thought comforts me. Because no matter what I am wearing, His love will never fail.

Let’s talk: What are some of the outrageous outfits your kids have worn? How does it make you feel to know that God loves you, regardless of what you are wearing?

 

This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What are you wearing?

  1. One day my son came downstairs dressed in knee length, black basketball shorts, knee length, blue soccer socks and a green t-shirt. He was in high school. His dad almost threw up as our teenage son left the house to go to school. I stood at the door and clapped for him. I loved that he was not afraid to be who he is! He will be getting married in 91 days and while I am sure he will be dressed appropriately, he is still a man who is comfortable with who he is. I thank God for that, given the many in his generation who struggle with that very thing.

    Thanks for posting this, and I love the analogy you made with it!

  2. DLoweinc says:

    This would be much better with a picture 🙂 cute post!

Leave a Reply

