One sentence to share the gospel

This morning I was listening to our local Christian radio station after I dropped my daughter off at preschool. One of my favorite songs, Glorious Day by Casting Crowns, came on just I pulled into my driveway. As I sat in the car and sang along, I was struck by the simplicity of the chorus. Let the words wash over you for a moment:

Living he loved me, dying he saved me,

Buried he carried my sins far away,

Rising he justified freely forever

One day he’s coming, o glorious day, o glorious day…

That’s it, isn’t it? The essence of the gospel captured in a single verse.

Our small group leader at church recently asked the question: If you only had one sentence to share the Good News with someone, what would you say? After much discussion, here’s what we came up with:

Trust in Jesus to save you from your sins.

Simple. True. Powerful. It’s what one criminal who hung on a cross next to Jesus did. With his final words he acknowledged Jesus’ place in God’s kingdom. Listen to their exchange.

“Then he said, “Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.”

Jesus answered him, “I tell you the truth, today you will be with me in paradise.” Luke 23:42, 43

That’s all it took. “Jesus, remember me…”

And the greatest gift of all – Eternal life – was his.

 

Let’s talk: If you had only one sentence to tell someone about Christ, what would you say?

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

